19.—Legislatures and Premiers of Ontario, 1934-52, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1952 Legislatures, 1934-52¹

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
June 19, 1934 Oct. 6, 1937 Aug. 4, 1943 June 4, 1945 June 7, 1948 Nov. 22, 1951	19th General Assembly. 20th General Assembly. 21st General Assembly. 22nd General Assembly. 23rd General Assembly. 24th General Assembly.	8 2 4 4	Feb. 20, 1935 Dec. 1, 1937 Feb. 22, 1944 July 16, 1945 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 21, 1952	Apr. 9, 1936 June 30, 1943 Mar. 24, 1945 Apr. 27, 1948 Oct. 6, 1951	

¹ The Ministries from 1934-52 were: 11th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. M. F. Hepburn; 12th Ministry, sworn in Oct. 21, 1942, under the leadership of Hon. G. D. Conant; 13th Ministry, sworn in May 18, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. H. C. Nixon; 14th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 17, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. George A. Drew; 15th Ministry, sworn in Oct. 10, 1948, under the leadership of Hon. Thomas L. Kennedy; 16th Ministry, sworn in May 4, 1949, under the leadership of Hon. Leslie M. Frost.

² Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1952.

Sixteenth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Nov. 22, 1951: 79 Progressive Conservatives, 8 Liberals, 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 1 Labour-Progressive.)

	~				FT 1.7	
NOTE.	See	head	note	to	Table	15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment	
Premier, President of the Council and Provincial Treasurer. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Highways. Attorney General. Minister without portfolio. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Labour. Provincial Secretary and Registrar. Minister of Planning and Development. Minister of Itands and Forests. Minister of Travel and Publicity. Minister of Mines. Minister of Mines. Minister of Mines. Minister of Health. Minister of Health. Minister of Georm Institutions. Minister of Education. Minister of Education. Minister of Education.	Hon. Leslie M. Frost. Hon. Thomas L. Kennedy. Hon. George H. Doucett. Hon. George H. Doucett. Hon. George H. Challies. Hon. George H. Dunbar. Hon. Charles Daley. Hon. C. Arthur Welsh. Hon. William A. Goodfellow. Hon. William Griesinger. Hon. Harold R. Scott. Hon. Harold R. Scott. Hon. Welland S. Gemmell. Hon. William E. Hamiton Hon. William E. Hamiton Hon. Molliam E. Hamiton Hon. John W. Foote. Hon. John W. Foote. Hon. John W. Foote. Hon. Fletcher S. Thomas.	July 31, 1931 Aug. 17, 1943 Jan. 7, 1945 Jan. 7, 1945 Jan. 7, 1946 Nov. 28, 1946 Oct. 19, 1948 May 4, 1949 July 15, 1949 Aug. 8, 1950 Nov. 16, 1950 Oct. 2, 1951	May 4, 1949 Aug. 17, 1943 May 4, 1949 Jan. 7, 1945 May 4, 1949 Nov. 28, 1946 Oct. 19, 1948 May 4, 1948 Nov. 16, 1950 Aug. R, 1950 Oct. 2, 1951 Oct. 2, 1951	

Subsection 7.-Manitoba

Besides its Lieutenant-Governor, Manitoba has a Provincial Executive composed of 10 members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members, elected for a statutory term of five years. The Honourable Roland Fairbairn McWilliams, the present Lieutenant-Governor of the Province, was commissioned to office Nov. 1, 1940. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the Year Book 1951, p. 94.

The Premier of the Province is paid a salary of \$8,000 per annum and each of the other Members of the Cabinet \$6,000. Members of the Legislature are each paid an indemnity of \$1,670 and an expense allowance of \$830. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional amount of \$2,000 and the Speaker of the Legislature an additional amount of \$2,500.